Memphis Traffic Violation Defense Attorney

No one enjoys being stopped on suspicion of a traffic violation, and encounters with law enforcement become worse when they end with a traffic citation. Many individuals who are ticketed simply pay the fine and move on with their lives.

The important thing to note about paying fines for a traffic citation is that you are effectively pleading guilty to the alleged violation when you pay the fine. While some believe that traffic violations are simply a harmless nuisance, repeated convictions for traffic violations could lead to a person having their driver’s license suspended or revoked.

Did you recently receive a traffic ticket in the greater Memphis area? Do not pay that fine without first contacting an attorney. You do not always have to accept the ticket and the associated consequences, and an experienced attorney could be able to help you avoid the potentially negative repercussions traffic violations can have on your finances and your driving privileges.

Shannon A. Jones, Attorney at Law can represent you in court and possibly prevent you from having to make an appearance. Call (901) 562-3605 or contact us online to take advantage of a free consultation with an experienced Memphis traffic ticket attorney today.

You Won’t Even Need to Appear in Court

Before you attempt to resolve your case on your own, call Shannon A. Jones, Attorney at Law as soon as possible for legal representation and guidance. You may not even need to appear in court. Mr. Jones can represent you on his own, depending on your case. Call today if you’ve received a traffic ticket for:

  • Speeding
  • Tailgating
  • Driving without insurance
  • Failing to wear a seatbelt
  • Failing to stop at a red light

Mr. Jones also handles cases involving minor accidents. Mr. Jones could resolve your case with no evidence of the violation. Call today to create a plan of action for your traffic violation.

Tennessee Traffic Laws

Tennessee assigns point values to all traffic offenses. A driver who accumulates 6 points in a given year will be sent a warning letter and a person who amasses 12 points risks having their driver’s license suspended.

A license can be suspended for six to twelve months, depending on the number of points involved. Drivers who younger than 18 years of age can have their licenses suspended for three to six months when they have 6 to 9 points or six months when they have 10 or more points.

The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security provides the following schedule of point values for moving traffic violations:

  • Tickets and Court Abstractions where speed not indicated on source documents — 3 points
  • Speeding 1 through 5 mph in excess of speed zone — 1 point
  • Speeding 6 through 15 mph in excess of speed zone — 3 points
  • Speeding 16 through 25 mph in excess of speed zone— 4 points
  • Speeding 26 through 35 mph in excess of speed zone — 5 points
  • Speeding 36 through 45 mph in excess of speed zone — 6 points
  • Speeding 46 mph and above in excess of speed zone — 8 points
  • Speed is less than posted minimum — 3 points
  • Driving too fast for conditions, failure to reduce speed to avoid an accident      — 3 points
  • Operating at erratic or sudden changing speed — 3 points
  • Reckless Driving — 6 points
  • Careless or negligent driving — 4 points
  • Failing to obey traffic instructions — 4 points
  • Improper passing — 4 points
  • Wrong way, side or direction — 4 points
  • Following improperly — 3 points
  • Following emergency vehicle unlawfully — 3 points
  • Failing to yield the right-of-way — 4 points
  • Making improper turn — 3 points
  • Failure to signal direction or to reduce speed suddenly — 3 points
  • Stopping, standing, obstructing, or blocking traffic — 3 points
  • Coasting; operating gears disengaged — 3 points
  • Improper backing — 3 points
  • Improper starting, burning rubber, spinning tires, peeling out — 3 points
  • Driver view or mechanism obstructed — 3 points
  • Driving mountain highway-controlled/audible warning — 3 points
  • Inability to maintain control — 3 points
  • Improper operation of or riding on a motorcycle — 3 points
  • Improper lane or location, driving on roadways laned for traffic — 3 points
  • Use of controlled access roadway — 4 points
  • Inattentive driving, due care, failure to drive in careful manner, unsafe lookout, improper driving — 3 points
  • Cross private property to avoid stop sign or signal — 4 points
  • Operating a vehicle while using cell phone (under 18) — 6 points
  • Passing a stopped school bus, church or youth bus taking on or discharging passengers— 8
  • Violation of driver license or certificate restrictions — 6 points
  • Reckless endangerment by vehicle (misdemeanor)       — 8 points
  • Miscellaneous traffic violations; any offense involving the unsafe operation of a non- commercial motor vehicle not herein specified — 3 points
  • Leaving the scene of a crash (no revocation action only) — 5 points
  • Failure to report a crash— 4 points
  • Failure to yield to emergency vehicles; Failure to change lanes/slow down for authorized vehicles on roadside — 6 points
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing — 8 points

The schedule of point values is as follows for non-commercial vehicles speeding in a construction zone:

  • Tickets and court abstracts where speed not indicated — 4 points
  • Speeding 1 through 5 mph in excess of posted speed — 2 points
  • Speeding 6 through 15 mph in excess of posted speed — 4 points
  • Speeding 16 through 25 mph in excess of posted speed — 5 points
  • Speeding 26 through 35 mph in excess of posted speed — 6 points
  • Speeding 36 mph and above in excess of posted speed — 8 points

The schedule of point values is as follows for contributing to the occurrence of accidents:

  • Contributing to an accident involving property damage — 3 points
  • Contributing to an accident resulting in bodily injury— 4 points
  • Contributing to an accident resulting in another’s death— 8 points

Other violations involve the following schedule of point values:

  • Operating without driver license in possession— 2 points
  • Operating without being licensed or without license required for that type of vehicle operated — 3 points
  • Operating while driver license required for type of vehicle operated is under suspension, revocation or cancellation — 8 points
  • Fleeing Law Enforcement Officer (misdemeanor) — 8 points
  • Child Endangerment (misdemeanor) — 8 points

Tennessee also has schedules of point values for moving traffic violations involving commercial vehicles and construction zone or hauling hazardous materials involving commercial vehicles. Reckless driving or driving while disqualified in a commercial vehicle is punishable by 8 points.

What are the penalties for traffic violations in Tennessee?

Points are one concern about a traffic violation. Another concern is usually the accompanying fine.

The City of Memphis reports that the following fines apply to the following traffic ordinances:

  • Driving on divided highway — $57.75
  • Driving within sidewalk area — $57.75
  • Obstructing intersection/crosswalk — $57.75
  • Following too closely — $62.75
  • Speeding, 1-5 MPH over speed limit — $42.75
  • Speeding, 6-10 MPH over speed limit — $52.75
  • Speeding, 11-15 MPH over speed limit — $67.75
  • Speeding, 16-25 MPH over speed limit — $77.75
  • Impeding traffic/minimum speed regulation — $47.75
  • Failure to yield/controlled intersection — $62.75
  • Failure to yield/intersection — $62.75
  • Stop/intersections — $62.75
  • Disregarding stop sign — $62.75
  • Failure to yield/stop sign — $62.75
  • One-way streets — $62.75
  • Turning movements generally — $62.75
  • Improper turns general — $62.75
  • Improper right turn — $62.75
  • Improper left turn — $62.75
  • Improper left turn/wrong lane — $62.75
  • Driving straight in turn lane — $52.75
  • Prohibited turn — $52.75
  • Improper U-turn — $52.75
  • Turning/stopping signals generally — $52.75
  • Change of direction after signal — $52.75
  • Failure to yield right of way/left turn — $62.75
  • Improper backing — $62.75
  • Failure to yield/emergency vehicle — $82.75
  • Striking parked vehicle/fixed object — $62.75
  • Disregard railroad sign/signal — $62.75
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing — $62.75
  • Driving around/through railroad gate — $62.75
  • Obstructing traffic prohibited — $62.75
  • Unattended vehicle — $62.75
  • Child passenger safety responsibility — $42.75
  • Safety belts required — $57.75
  • Improper display of license plate — $47.75
  • Inspection of vehicle required — $57.75
  • Defective brakes — $62.75
  • Lights required on motor vehicle — $57.75
  • Bright lights — $52.75
  • Tail lights required — $57.75
  • Stop lights required — $57.75
  • Each headlamp operational — $57.75
  • Lights on vehicle/other than motor vehicle — $57.75
  • Lamp at end of train of vehicles — $57.75
  • No headlights — $57.75
  • Headlights operational/rain — $57.75
  • Muffler required — $47.75
  • Windshield and windows — $47.75
  • Escape of load prohibited — $62.75
  • Traffic control signals — $82.75
  • Disregarded red light — $82.75
  • Disobeying flashing signals — $62.75
  • Controlled access roadways — $47.75
  • Obedience to devices — $47.75
  • Obedience to traffic officers — $47.75
  • Devote full attention to vehicle operation — $62.75
  • Failure to maintain safe speed — $62.75
  • Failure to maintain safe lookout— $62.75
  • Failure to maintain proper control— $62.75
  • Pulling away from curb— $62.75
  • Failure to yield/emerging/entering alley, driveway— $62.75
  • Duty to drive to the right side of roadway— $62.75
  • Pass vehicle opposite direction — $57.75
  • Passing vehicles same direction— $57.75
  • Cutting in and out(passing)— $57.75
  • Wrong side of street passing — $57.75
  • Passing on right side— $57.75
  • Changing/straddling lanes — $57.75
  • Failure to drive to the right — $57.75

Fines for speeding in a school zone, passing a stopped school bus, no driver’s license, violations of state registration law, failure to report an accident or provide immediate notice to police, reckless driving, and speeding offenses involving 26+ MPH over the speed limit are all determined by the court. Reckless driving is also a class B misdemeanor that can result in six months of jail time.

Defending against traffic violations in Memphis

When you have been cited for any traffic violation, your first defense might very well be that you did not break the law. For example, a faulty radar could produce incorrect readings and lead to a speeding ticket being thrown out.

Other factors could also be applicable to certain cases, so conduct that allegedly violated the law may have been legally justified. Some people may have committed violations in emergency situations.

If you were issued a traffic citation in Memphis or another nearby community in Tennessee you will want to consider hiring a lawyer to possibly fight your ticket. Not only could this avoid a significant fine, but it can also help make sure that you do not accrue damaging points on your record.

Shannon A. Jones, Attorney at Law has been handling traffic cases since 1997. We can discuss all of your legal options as soon as you call (901) 562-3605 or contact us online to set up a free consultation.